Easy day trip – Incheon

It’s been awhile since I’ve last updated my Korea series! If you’ve been keeping up with my blog, I’ve done/seen so much in Korea during my two-month trip alone, and I probably can continue a series for a whole year. However, I’ve selected and have been featuring some of the most valuable memories to share, and I have just a few more posts left from my Korea trip. So stay with me and if my posts give travel lovers like myself a small idea of how each place I visit looks like, I’m satsified! Thank you in advance for those who actively visit my page & continue to give me feedbacks 🙂 

A city located northwest of South Korea, Incheon is where the 2014 Asian Games took place this year. Incheon is known as the second biggest port city, and is also the home of Incheon International Airport (ICN), one of the biggest airports in the world.

I want to share three spots I absolutely loved in Incheon: Chinatown, Story Village, and Wolmido. Consider it a little city tour package. All three attractions are pretty close to each other, so transit was not an issue, but note that traffic is always an issue on weekends in an overpopulated country like Korea.

Chinatown & Story Village are literally besides each other, so that was convenient. The only Chinatown I’ve been to was in San Francisco, CA, so going to a Chinatown in a different country was quite a new experience for me. Would’ve been better if I knew more about China, but one thing I do know is that red is a symbol of luck! So for those of you who do, great! I lost many of the pics I took this day for some reason, but here are some that managed to survive. I would say the lamb kebabs on the street were the best part (food over attraction, always) 🙂 Not sure what kind of spice it is, but it had a little kick to it, which I absolutely loved. The architecture and the murals definitely represented China’s own culture. Oh, and the first picture below is a dumpling photo booth!

Right next door is the Story Village, an attraction available for any family to enjoy. The city decided to transform this specific village in Incheon into an attraction, with sculptures, murals, paintings and shops based upon cartoon or Disney characters for tourists. Yes, there are actual residents living in these homes. As I mentioned in my Naksan Mural Village post (click for the actual post), this has been a trend in Korea for the past several years. More and more traditional homes are converting to tourists spots each year. The kids obviously love this place!

The last spot of my one-day course in Incheon is Wolmido. Directly by the coast, think about it as a separate town on a harbor. Apparently it’s the spot most popular among local Incheon-ers when it comes to dates, or simply to resort. I would say Wolmido would be the best way to end a day in Incheon by treating yourself with fresh, local seafood, and snacking a variety of street food. Also, there is a stage where local artists come to perform every weekend, and a fountain show which I luckily attended.

*All photos taken by Crystall Cho 
So there goes my one-day course guide in Incheon that won’t cost you a penny.
My next post will be on Busan, the second largest metropolis after Seoul, and the home of original seafood.

TIPS: Lunch in Chinatown, digest while walking through the Story Village, dinner at Wolmido and enjoy the carnival and nightlife afterwards. I’d say that’s not too bad of a date!
crystallsjcho.

Leave a comment