Ka Lae, the southernmost point in the US

KONA or HILO are the two main cities you want to stay during your visit to Big Island. Either way, you’ll have to drive around the whole island anyways, so it really depends on how you plan your itinerary (most people choose to stay on the Kona side for a few days and move over to Hilo for the rest of the trip. Also depends on where you fly in from! There ARE airports in both areas, so it’s on you to plan accordingly! I chose to stay in the Kona side because I thought the drive was easier that way but that’s strictly my preference.

Nothing better than a gorgeous view of the Hawaiian sunrise with a cup of Kona coffee (who didn’t know Kona was especially famous for its coffee?) The best way to start a day!

My brother & I made a trip down to Ka Lae (South Point).  Before this trip, I always thought Key West in Florida was the southernmost point in the US, and I’m sure a LOT of people around me also believe that is the case as well. However, many don’t realize that Ka Lae (South Point) in Hawaii is actually the southernmost point. The scenic view to get to Ka Lae was just beyond incredible, and the weather? You see it in the pictures. Out of 13 climate zones in the world, Big Island has 11! The Kona side is considered a desert, so we had the perfect high 80’s during our stay.

Another fun part about driving along the coast was the number of exotic plans we encountered. I couldn’t resist my journalistic instinct, so I had to stop many times during the drive to get a photo! So much greenery, and not to mention I fell in love with that bent over tree from the last picture above.

& rewinding a bit. We only had a few hours from our first day, so we didn’t get to do much BUT we did experience the gorgeous sunset hues & made it to Waimea, the eastern part of the island where whale watching is popular (we were too late for the whales, though)

Here’s bits & pieces from the Waimea Harbor and during the drive back to Kona!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

*All photos taken by Crystall Cho

The clear waters and the beautiful sky took my breath away. Need I say more!

TIPS: Visit the Green Sand Beach while you’re visiting La Kae. You may drive to the South Point on your own, but you must receive a local’s help to get to the Green Sands. There are signs available when you get to the South Point to direct you to where the Green Sands is, so just follow & there will be a tent with water and a bunch of locals waiting in Jeeps (It’s not as sketchy at all). When I went, it was $30/person.
-crystallsjcho.

Leave a comment